Democrat logo

Registered Democrats in Arlington elected 37 delegates to the 2017 state party convention, as almost 100 people came to the caucus, believed to be an Arlington record for a non-nominating event.

"The response to a Trump presidency in Arlington has served as a launch pad for Democratic activism. I've not seen this kind of enthusiasm by so many people new to politics," said Aimee Coolidge, chair of the Arlington Democrats, in a news release. "We were thrilled at the turnout for our caucus as well as the expressed interest by so many others to become involved in our work."

Elected at the Feb. 11 caucus at the Senior Center were:

Adam Badik, Sidi Belkziz, Bruce Bergman, Robin Bergman, Lynn Bishop, Shane Blundell, Colin Bunnell, Stuart Cleinman, Maureen Crewe, Mary Cummings, Gregory Dennis, Wilford Durbin, Catherine Farrell, William Gardiner, Mel Goldsipe, Deborah Goldsmith, Naomi Greenfield, David Greenwold, Pamela Hallett, Gwenyth Hooper, Christa Kelleher, Troy Lintz, Jeffrey Maxtutis, Richard McElroy, Pearl Morrison, Amy Pearsall, Maura Pfeifer, Rebecca Riccio, Mark Rosenthal, Paul Schlichtman, Nancy Strong, David Swanson, Stephanie Swanson, Alice Trexler, Jordan Weinstein, Michael Welch and Lynn Wolfsfeld.

Coolidge will serve as an ex-officio delegate. Also serving as ex-officio delegates are Patricia Deal, Heather Fowles and James DiTullio, all of whom serve on the Democratic State Committee. Alternates are Vivian Berlin, Katie Garrett and Sandra Vorce. 

The caucus was open to all Democrats who are registered or preregistered in Arlington as of the day of the caucus. Delegates were divided equally between men and women, and all ballots were written and secret. 

The convention is scheduled for Saturday, June 3, at the Tsongas Arena, Lowell. Democrats from across the state will gather to vote on the party platform, discuss issues and participate in training on party building, electoral techniques and issue-based organizing.

For more information about the caucus or the committee, contact Aimee Coolidge at 781-646-5339, visit the group's website at or visit its Facebook page at

This news announcement was published Thursday, Jan. 19, 2017, and updated Feb. 17, with a news release