School Committee logo

 In its 15-minute organizational meeting held Monday, April 12, the School Committee unanimously voted for Bill Hayner to serve as chair, Liz Exton as vice chair and Kirsi Allison-Ampe as secretary.

Paul Schlichtman, who ran the meeting, because he is a senior member of the committee, described outgoing Chair Jane Morgan as having done “a masterful job in a very difficult year.” He did not elaborate, but the past many months have included coping with the ongoing pandemic, which dramatically reduced on-campus learning since March 2020; the recruitment and hiring of a superintendent to succeed Kathleen Bodie, long set to retire 2½ months from now; and the continuing major reconstruction of Arlington High School.

The committee also voted, 7-0, to authorize the chair to sign warrants; to approve a list of liaisons to subcommittees; and to adhere to policies stating norms and standards. These include such practices as to debate issues, not each other, and to make decisions based on information rather than personalities.

“I can’t think of a better group of people to work with” going forward, Schlichtman said.

Morgan and Jeff Thielman, unopposed candidates, won reelection in the town election April 10.

In related news, in the Town Election held the previous Saturday April 10, committee incumbents Morgan (4,393) and Jeff Thielman (4,280) ran unopposed and were re-elected, each for a three-year term.

This news summary by YourArlington freelance journalist Judith Pfeffer was published Tuesday, April 13, 2021.