For the fourth consecutive season, Arlington-Belmont Crew took home the overall team trophy at the Massachusetts Public School Rowing Association state championships. Crew logo

A-B boys captured the boys' 8+ team trophy for the sixth time in a row. The girls took home the 8+ team trophy for the first time.

The team now heads to the USRowing Youth National Championships, outside of Princeton, N.J., on the weekend of June 10-12. Two A-B Crew boats will be competing in Nationals -- the boys' varsity heavyweight 8+ and the girls' varsity lightweight 8+.

Arlington-Belmont is one of a small group of public high schools to qualify for Nationals and will face elite rowing teams from all over the country.

Nineteen high school teams competed on the Merrimack River in Lowell. Boats raced on a 1,500-meter, six-lane sprint course.

Each boat earned a certain number of points depending on its placement to contribute toward the overall team point total.

The morning consisted of preliminary heats in each of the events, and the top six boats moved on to finals in the afternoon. With 19 finishes earning points throughout the day, A-B showed tremendous strength and depth to retain their title as state champions.
The morning started with a gold-medal win for Joe Wenzel and Adam Cronin in a double (two rowers), beating Boston Latin by 28 seconds.

As the day progressed, the rest of the A-B team piled on top finishes throughout the day.

In the finals, A-B won five gold medals. They were:

-- Boys' first novice 8+, with Maya Rothenberg (cox), Drew Niles, Brendan Youmell, Niklas Roberts, Matthew Wu, William Bazakas-Chamberlain, Colton Brown, Ian Burnett and Grant Wadman.

-- Girls' first novice 8+, with Eva Steinitz (cox), Lauren Curtis, Claire Wilson, Kelly Houston, Lulu November, Casey Reed, Maura Laffey, Alana Raymond and Lucy Voges.

-- Boys' third varsity 8+, with Nick Krom (cox), Ian McCabe, Walter Horgan, Sam Rogers, Lucas Abeln, Nick Hanify, Jason Leong, Rafi Wagner and Ricky Steisel.

-- Girls' third varsity 8+, with Jessie Cheimets (cox), Eleanor Thidemann, Elizabeth Deese, Alexia Assimakopoulos, Grace Newberry, Irina Mara, Camilla Carere, Courtney Crowley and Alice Liu.

-- Boys' first varsity 8+, with Julian Green (cox), Louis Pratt, Owen Niles, JD Tiffany, Adrian Tanner, Ryan Sass, Matteo Piga, Joe Wenzel and Adam Cronin.

Silver medals went to girls' second novice 8+, with Amanda Coolidge (cox), Sophie Spink, Maddie Rodriguez, Kate Sandage, Yasmine Aoua, Marina Goldman, Devin Wright, Ellie Crowley and Sarah Mangelli; and the girls' first varsity 8+ -- missing gold by less than a second in a photo finish -- with Laura Schoonmaker (cox), Jess Keniston, Melissa Bazakas-Chamberlain, Bridget Kiejna, Belle Carbeck, Sophia Haska, Emma Gharibian, Abi Judge and Alena Jaeger.

Bronze medal winners were boys' second novice 8+, with David Yan (cox), Ryan Hamilton, Noah Merfeld, Luke Moore-Frederick, Sebastian Newell Andrew Johnson-MacDonald, Patrick Burns, Casey Eshelman and Sam Yamin; and girls' second varsity 8+, with Maya Alperin, Linnea Metelmann, Kate Rosner, Emma Lester, Jess Daum, Nicole McElhoe, Olga Brevnova, Bea Schueller and Callie Abouzeid.

Other top performers in some close races were boys' second varsity 8+, which finished fourth, with Lennart Nielsen (cox), Dylan Ryan, Brian O'Rourke, Charlie Yeh, Cullen Healey, Anthony Rodriguez, Atticus Kane, Brendan Mooney and Tony Chen; boys' second varsity 4+, finishing sixth, with Maxime Aranow (cox), Ben Goldman, Nate Russel, Ben Abouzeid and Dillon Sheehan; boys' first varsity 4+ finishing sixth, with Abe Reiss (cox), Turner Winkler, Leo Cha, Bruce Westgate and Wilson Sosna; and girls' varsity 4+, with Nami Yamaguchi (cox), Margaret Cameron, Tali Bers, Paula McMenimen and Yara Akkeh.

Officials details here >>

This summary was published Tuesday, May 31, 2016.